My Friend Les Reese

It was almost two years ago (September 28, 2007) that my friend and fellow wargamer Les Reese was killed in an ATV accident. Les and I had played miniature wargames together for over a decade (1989-2002). Les was a kind hearted fellow who gave me about $800 of figures when I was in my last year of graduate school. He said that he didn’t need them anymore and I could sell what I didn’t want on Ebay. When I told him I would sell them for him and give him the money, he just replied that I should keep the money. I am sure that Les did that as he knew I was a nearly starving graduate student with a family and he had just inherited a great deal of money; that was the generous sort of person Les was. Yesterday I was rebasing some 10mm Wars of the Roses figures that Les had given me (and I had kept) and thought about him. So today, its a short tribute to Les and all the other decent people I have met wargaming.

As Harry Pearson said in Achtung Schweinehund, the wargames hobby is all about the good people you meet through it, and Les was clearly one of those people that I am glad I met. So here’s to you Les, lest we forget.

 
3 Responses to My Friend Les Reese

  1. jdglasco says:

    I was just thinking about Les the other day. He is gone but not forgotten.

    Like

  2. jdglasco says:

    Duane,
    It was my pleasure to know Les, he was a great guy and I still miss his endless enthusiasm.

    Like

  3. Duane and Brenda Gibson (Brenda Reese) says:

    Hi
    I just wanted to say that this was a very nice post. My wife was Les’s sister, Brenda. The pictures were great. Thank you.
    Duane Gibson

    Like

Leave a Reply

