Piquet FOB WWII Basing

I have finally had some time to think about what I want to do with Piquet Field of Battle WWII. In the end, I’ve decided to play it at the scale written (1 stand = 1 company) and with my 6mm figures (mostly GHQ and Heroics and Ros). The first project will be a campaign of the German attack to take Tobruk and beyond in mid-1942 (the Gazala Campaign). As I have been researching the Orders of Battle for that campaign for about 15 years (yes 15 years – a bit anal about this to be sure), I have all that I need in terms of who had what and the like. Also Gazala is a bit more manageable in terms of size of campaign area; much more manageable than the 1940-41 Italian invasion of Egypt and British counterattack (Operation Compass), which maybe the next campaign. Gazala is also about the right size for what I want to try, not as big as El Alamein and not as small as the 1941 German initial advance.

I also have most of the miniatures I will need. A few need to be painted, but I am pretty much have all the raw figures. I have opted to go with the centimeter basing, that is the frontage of most combat companies will be 1 1/4″ or roughly 3cm. That way 1 cm = 100 yards or 7″ =  1 mile. I am basing the armored, artillery, and truck units on a 1 1/4″ 1 1/4″ base with one vehicle or 1 gun and about 4 crew. For infantry, machineguns, and motorcycles I am using a 1 1/4″ x 3/4″ base with 4 infantry or 2 machinegun teams or 2-4 motorcycles. I am keeping my headquarters units different sizes than the combat units to avoid any confusion. The battalion headquarters will be on 1″ x 1″ stands with 1 vehicle and 1-2 figures or 2-3 figures (if entirely foot mobile like airborne battalions). Regiment and brigade headquarters will be on 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ bases with 2 vehicles and 2-4 figures. Finally, division headquarters will be on 2″ x 2″ bases with 3 vehicles and 3-5 figures. The vehicles on battalion headquarters tend to be jeeps, cars, scout cars (like a Daimler Scout Car) or PzKw Befs. For higher headquarters, the vehicles used tend to also include a radio truck or halftrack and other assorted vehicles. I also use markers for battalions with the heavy weapons bonus and these are either mortars or infantry guns on a 3/4″ x 3/4″ base or a heavy weapons vehicle, like a mortar carrier, on a 1″ x 3/4″ base. 

2 Responses to Piquet FOB WWII Basing

  1. Jeff says:

    I wanted to be able to have a battlefield that measures about 7 miles on a 4′ x 4′ table, so with 7″ = 1 mile, the ground scale will work. I also wanted to be able to put at least a division of troops per size on that table. With North African battles, the troop densities are smaller, but the battlefields were larger.

    Like

  2. Unknown says:

    We based our figures for Flames of War and built sabot bases for FOB.With that scale, you\’re either going to have some really large forces on your table, or you\’re going for a smaller playing area?

    Like

Leave a Reply

