Piquet FOB WW2 Basing

I’ve spent the last couple of months making bases and rebasing my 1/285th scale (6mm) figures for Piquet Field of Battle WW2. I’ve got about 2/3rd of my figures for North Africa rebased and about 1/10th of my Western Front 1944 figures rebased. I went with cm scale in that 1cm on the table equals 1″ in the game rules. That allows really be battles to be played on smaller tables.

For vehicles and guns I use 1 1/4″ square bases. Infantry bases (including engineers, machinegun companies, and motorcycle troops) are based on 1 1/4″ wide x 3/4″ deep bases. The command units are based on a variety of base sizes. Sub-Commanders (battalion headquarters) are based on 1″ square stands. MCG Commanders (brigade and regiment headquarters) are based on 1 1/2″ square bases. Finally, Commanders (division headquarters) are based on 2″ square bases. In our game last Saturday, this basing worked really well and I am happy with it. Once warweb sends me my order I can keep rebasing my figures.

An example of an infantry company base:

An example of a tank company base:

 

An example of an artillery battalion base (I use battalions for all but the British who have their artillery on battery size bases due to their batteries being 8-12 guns rather than 4-6):

Here is an entire British artillery regiment in action:

An example of a battalion Sub-Commander/Headquarters:

Two examples of Regiment/Brigade MCG Commanders/Headquarters:

German battalion, regiment and division commanders/headquarters:

The figures are mostly GHQ with a few from Heroics and Ros.

Thanks to Mark for taking these pictures. I could not even figure out how to turn on my wife’s camera! The light green tint in some of the photos comes from shadows rather than paint.

3 Responses to Piquet FOB WW2 Basing

  1. bet365 says:

    how are you I was luck to discover your blog in google
    your post is terrific
    I get a lot in your website really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really outstanding
    where can find it

    Like

  2. jdglasco says:

    Andy,

    The platoon scale FOB game is on hold for now as I wanted to try out the company stand scale game first. I have modified the basic rules to include antiaircraft and engineer companies as well as modified the engineer rules somewhat.

    Like

  3. Andy says:

    Look forward to seeing some reports about your platoon-stand FoB WW2 games. I think that’s a useful scale myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

