February 2013 Game: Field of Glory: Renaissance: First Newbury (English Civil War)

Last month (yes I’m a bit behind in posting), Mark and I played a Field of Glory: Renaissance game. The battle we played was 1st Newbury from the English Civil War. I think this was the first time I have ever played a game from the English Civil War despite focusing on that period of English History in my masters’ degree. The rules used were Field of Glory: Renaissance, and we were able to play a complete game in a few hours of actual playing time.  Mark provided the figures were are 10mm (mostly Pendraken and Old Glory if I remember correctly). He based them on 30mm wide bases instead of the normal 40mm wide bases. The depths of the bases were also reduced to 75% of the normal size. He used rulers that had been scaled down to 75% as well. That allowed the entire game to be played on a 3′ by 3′ table, which was very nice; sort of a gentlemanly sit down affair.

I played the Royalists and Mark ran the Parliamentarian forces. I’ve included the orders of battle that we used below as well as a map of the historical battle. As a game, the rules worked very well this time and felt less “mechanical”. I think that was due to playing a more manageable size game for two players, especially since I’ve only played these rules once before. My observations are that cavalry are pretty important and the cavalry battle can determine the battle, like many of the War of Spanish Succession games I have played (with Ian of Warflag). The nuances of the period were well reflected in the rules and it moved along fairly rapidly. I think having a smaller table worked well as we didn’t have tons of turns devoted to moving into combat, but we did have enough table space for some maneuvering before contact. It’s been a month since we played but I believe the Royalists won, but like most of our games it was a fairly equal fight. I’ll let the pictures do the talking as my brain is a bit fried from too many work issues. All in all, we both enjoyed the game, both rules and scenario

Mark provided the scenario, figures, table and lunch. Happily, I’ll be able to provide everything for our March game in my new game room.

Royalist OB:

First Newbury Royalist

Parliamentarin OB:

First Newbury Parliamentarian

Historical Set Up Map:

first-newbury-battle

And now the photos of the game in chronological order (click on the picture for a larger image), Royalists forces on the right and Parliamentarians on the left side of the table/images:

1stNewbury_0001

1stNewbury_0002

1stNewbury_0003

1stNewbury_0004

1stNewbury_0005

1stNewbury_0006

1stNewbury_0007

1stNewbury_0008

1stNewbury_0009

1stNewbury_0010

1stNewbury_0011

1stNewbury_0012

1stNewbury_0013

1stNewbury_0014

One Response to February 2013 Game: Field of Glory: Renaissance: First Newbury (English Civil War)

  1. guitar tuner says:

    Thankfulness to my father who stated to me about this weblog, this
    weblog is genuinely awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

