Speaking of A House Divided

To get a feel for the strategic picture that a Volley & Bayonet A House Divided campaign might take, I’ve been playing a few games of the old GDW A House Divided game. I’ve been using the second edition rules and playing the game via Vassal (see http://www.vassalengine.org/). Vassal is a good way to go if you have lots of children and pets that might mess up your game if you played it via the board and counters. While a bit different from the way VnB campaign game might go, playing A House Divided has given me some insight into the campaign. Plus it is a great game in itself. I used to play a lot of board games but sort of quit playing them for reason I can’t remember about 17 years ago (probably when my cat, then a kitten, messed up my 1776 campaign game that I had played for hours).

Here is a picture of my current A House Divided game, it is the start of the Jan/Feb 1864 turn:

A House DividedMap - Copy

One Response to Speaking of A House Divided

  1. Bill Owen says:

    Congratulations for getting so far into the game. Usually we’d call it before we got that far. A lot of fun. And maximum realism return for the minimal investment in learning the game. I have wanted to do the same VnB campaign using AHD game. I have also considered For The People which has some similarities, and fun… but a lot more chrome. That game “loads the dice” w/r/t early CSA leader abilities vs USA… and so tabletop games will not necessarily match the boardgame resolution without leader modifiers. But since campaigns need maximum simplicity, maybe too much chrome?

    Like

Leave a Reply

