The Volley & Bayonet/A House Divided Campaign Project

I’ve been rebasing and painting new figures for my Volley & Bayonet/A House Divided Campaign Project. I am using Adler 6mm figures (they are really about 7-8mm figures). I now have almost all the figures painted and rebased for 4 Confederate infantry corps and 6 Union infantry corps and 1 Union cavalry corps. That should be enough to start the 1861-1862 campaign. I plan on painting a total of 10 Union infantry corps, 1 Union cavalry corps, 7 Confederate infantry corps, and 1 Confederate cavalry corps. I have all of the figures I will need (I think). I recently ordered the last figures I needed (a very odds and ends order) from Adler. The figures arrived quickly and were well packed (thank you Adler Miniatures).

I am using a 5/12ths scale. That is 12″ of the normal scale has been reduced to 5″. That means a normal 10′ x 6′ table is reduced to a 50″ x 30″ table. The bases for massed infantry and cavalry are 1 1/4″ x 1 1/4″. Linear infantry (dismounted cavalry) are 1 1/4″ x 5/8″. Generals are on slightly larger than normal bases with division commanders (dcs) are on a 3/4″ x 3/4″ base. Corps and army commanders (ccs and acs) are on a 1″ x 1″ base. Artillery are on a 3/4″ x 3/4″ base, which is a bit larger than normal, but I feel is more in line with the historical frontage of a 12 to 18 gun battalion.

Here are some examples of my how my figures are based:

ACW Generals

ACW Infantry

ACW Cavalry 1

ACW Artillery

Bear with me as I took the photos. I haven’t owned a camera since I was like 13 years old and it shows! I borrowed my wife’s camera, which my children had reset to crazy settings. I did the best I could, but I clearly have a lot to learn about taking photos.

5 Responses to The Volley & Bayonet/A House Divided Campaign Project

  1. John says:

    I like your scaling down. Do you also go to 5/12 for ranges and movement.

    Like

    • jdglasco says:

      Actually I found the 5/12 scale a bit fiddly and too few figures per stand. I’ve gone to 1/2 scale bases: 1.5″ x 1.5″ for infantry with 10 figures, 1.5″ x 1.5″ for mounted cavalry with 6 figures, 1.5″ x .75″ for dismounted cavalry with 5 figures, 1″ square for sub-commanders with 2 figures, and 1.25″ square for army/wing commanders with 3 figures. I have not rebased the artillery yet, but with 16 gun units, I’m going with 1″ square bases with 1 cannon and 2 or 3 artillerist figures. I have found the larger area of the stand, 2.25″ square for an infantry brigade, looks better than 1.56″ square for a 5/12ths scale infantry base. That still keeps the table size and number of figures to play a larger ACW battle manageable for one person. Also I’m going to use a version of Fast Play Grande Armee for big ACW battles as it includes a lot of emphasis on command which VnB lacked.

      Like

    • jdglasco says:

      John,

      Sorry I didn’t actually answer the question you asked in my first response. Yes, reduce movement, firing and command ranges by the same amount you reduce the stand size.

      Like

      • jhovey11 says:

        Thanks. The 1/2 scale actually makes it even easier and better in my opinion. I love you blog. If you get the chance swing by my new one http://www.LZBravo.com

        John

        Like

        • jdglasco says:

          John,
          Great blog, I especially liked your Sword and the Flame game. That is something I’ve been wanting to do in 15mm (Blue Moon figures). I played several games of TSTF with Ian Croxall (Mr. Warflag) when he was still playing games (alas he has gone on to nano-brewing) and I really enjoyed it.

          Like

Leave a Reply

