Finally, an enjoyable set of rules for the American Revolution’s small battles

I’ve been trying to find my favorite rules for the American Revolution. I like Volley & Bayonet for larger scale battles, but I find it less successful in terms of what I am interested in for the smaller scale battles, like those in southern campaigns of 1780 and 1781. Mark and I tried Piquet Field of Battle last December and it didn’t work at all for me (see https://jdglasco.wordpress.com/2013/02/03/december-2012-game-piquet-field-of-battle-cowpens-1781/). My next bet was to try to make an American Revolution version of Die Kriegkunst (part of the General de Brigade systems). Mark and I tried these rules last Saturday, and I’ll post something on that once Mark sends the last batch of pictures. We used these charts (https://jdglasco.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/die-kriegskunst-for-the-american-revolution/). I opted to use Die Kriegkunst instead of British Grenadier as I didn’t really like the way the disruption points worked in British Grenadier. While my next game report will tell more, I honestly found the General de Brigade system a bit too much of 1990 style of rules for me; basically I had a head ache after two games.

Undaunted, I thought about why not the original Piquet? I set up a Cowpens scenario last night, and as I took Friday afternoon off today, I played three complete solo games (all in about 5 hours). I used these charts (AWI Charts 2013). Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures as I had no idea where my wife’s camera was, and she was gone at work (I worked at home this morning as my kids didn’t have school today). It didn’t take that long to get familiar again with the Piquet rules as I had used them for many games in the past. My evaluation was I LOVED the Piquet games. The games were all dynamic, produced historical results, each game had its own unique results (one British and two American victories), I didn’t have a headache at the end (actually I started the day with one, but after the games it was gone), and I found Piquet very FUN.

I like the original Piquet a lot more than Piquet Field of Battle. I find Piquet Field of Battle to be too much about a quick game and making everything equal for the players. The only major deviation from the Piquet Master rules was that I used double 12 dominos for impetus points. The side that won the initiative got the larger of the two numbers on the domino, and the loser got the smaller number. Once a domino was used, it was put aside and not reused in the game. The domino system worked very well and produced a good range of impetus points for each side.

I also used the rules for Smaller Forces Engaged for the Army Morale Chip Count. I think these produced too many Army Morale Points, especially given that each side had a minimum of three cards. Next time I will use all of the morale cards (2-10) rather than just the 6 to 10 ones. Most of my scenarios ended with one side pretty much destroyed, which seemed a bit extreme.

So I have been resold on the Piquet Master rules (2nd edition). I don’t know why we quit using them in the first place. They are fun to play, and just flow better than many of the rules I have been trying to use recently. Now I’ve got to order the Cartouche supplement. I helped with the redesign, but didn’t get a copy for my efforts (the head designer got a total of two copies for his efforts). I also have a number of 15mm American Civil War figures, so I’ll also get the supplement for that period. I do have the Ancients/Early Medieval supplement, so I might look for something to play from that period, either Vikings/Anglo-Saxons/Normans or Imperial Rome/British Celts.  Once Blue Moon/Old Glory completes their 15/18mm line of Napoleonics, I planning on playing some Napoleonics as well. I also think I could completely rewrite the Blitzkrieg supplement for World War Two as I have a lot of 6mm figures, but that will have to wait.

One Response to Finally, an enjoyable set of rules for the American Revolution’s small battles

  1. […] an earlier post (https://jdglasco.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/finally-an-enjoyable-set-of-rules-for-the-american-revoluti&#8230😉 I noted that I needed to buy a copy of the Piquet Cartouche supplement. Brent Oman of Piquet read […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

