Gentlemanly Wargaming now has its own camera

In the past I had relied on Mark’s wonderful camera ability for most of the pictures on this blog. However, I wanted to be able to take pictures of the solo games I played and some of the figures I had painted. The problem was that I had not owned a camera since I was about 12 years old and I don’t have a smart phone (I don’t have a cell phone at all, but that’s another story). I decided that I needed to remedy this problem. Yesterday I was reading about taking pictures of miniatures and at possible cameras. My wife informed me that she had a digital camera that she really didn’t use anymore and I could use it. It was a few years old, but since I know almost nothing about taking pictures, I felt that wouldn’t really matter as long as it had a decent macro mode. So these are some of my first attempts at photographing miniatures. Let’s see how they look once they get on the blog.

I started with some 15mm Blue Moon cowboys that I have painted (they still needed to be dullcoated).

IMG_6602

IMG_6603

IMG_6604

IMG_6605

Those seemed to turn out all right so I tried a 25mm Old Glory Mexican Revolution figure I had painted some time ago.

IMG_6606

IMG_6610

I then tried an extra 15mm American Revolution dragoon (Stone Mountain).

IMG_6615

The above photo was raw with no automatic image correct. Looks all right.

IMG_6617

The above photo was redone with the image auto correct function. I think it looks a little better.

Overall, the photos seemed decent enough for my first try so I’ll keep taking more pictures; even if they are not great, they do add to the content of the blog.

5 Responses to Gentlemanly Wargaming now has its own camera

  1. Bill Owen says:

    I realized that I never answered. The write-up came from a game in Belize which is my intermediate country. We return there occasionally. The minis arrived pretty discombobulated so on moving to Uruguay, I tried another packing approach which one could described Chevy Lot/Layer Cake. Worked much better.

    Like

  2. Mark says:

    The photos do look good. Now that he risk of my accidentally winning a game now outweighs my usefulness as a photographer, I hope I still get an occasional invitation to play.

    Like

    • jdglasco says:

      Mark, send me an e-mail about when you can play. I can do most of October except for the 17-18 weekend. I’m playing a big game of Piquet AWI to relearn the rules. So far it is going well and a lot of fun.

      Like

  3. Bill Owen says:

    The photos look great and even if they weren’t, bad photos are better than none at all. The auto-color correction can work wonders!

    I documented a whole multi-day battle in Great Battles of WWII with pictures that I took most turns. Part of what helped is that I wrote just a few words about each photos so I didn’t have to remember what were the salient points for that turn. Together the few words with the photo, I could dredge up enough memory to write up the turn later on. With that text/photos I made up a little e-booklet that helped explain the benefits of the GB “mini-campaign” approach:
    http://www.g-design.us/gb/AgiraAfterActionReportAug2013s.pdf

    Like

    • jdglasco says:

      Bill,

      I have learned a lot in a few days about taking pictures of miniatures. The common wisdom I found about lighting was very true, more light really does help. I have a lot of light in my game room, but it is just enough, more would help. I did make a little photo area on my home office desk, and the use of a bright desk lamp really helped. As your game write-up shows, photos really do improve a discussion of a game or a set of rules in general.

      Did your 1/285th miniatures make it to South American with you or is that a write up of a game you played in Illinois?

      Like

Leave a Reply

