5th Light (Leichte) Division (early 1941) for Command Decision: Test of Battle

I’ve finally survived my semester from hell. I had to take over another professor’s class due to their having medical issues which left them unable to teach the course. That rarely happens at the college/university level. This is the first time in 20 years I have had to take over another professor’s course (and only the 4th time I have seen this happen). As our History courses are not all the same, it was a lot of work. The other professor taught the course as more of a literature course, and I had to transform it back to more of a regular History course so I could teach it (the literature approach is not my forte). I finished grading finals for all of my courses last week (I taught five over the semester, three is pretty standard). I really needed a break from academia so I started to read through the wargame files on my computer.

Something World War Two seemed most interesting. I’ve still got the Stolberg campaign around, but I was attracted to my real World War Two interest: North Africa 1940-1942. I had always wanted to do some sort of campaign with Command Decision and North Africa. In the past, one of my friends, Dave in France, did part of a 1940 campaign using the DAK2 game as the board and control mechanism. It was a 1-3 bathtub style campaign. That looked interesting to me, but it covered a lot of time, probably more than I wanted to play in my first campaign. I thought that either Rommel’s First Campaign or the Crusader Campaign looked very interesting as both were mobile campaigns and either side could have won or lost.

I read through the orders of battle and unit organization tables. The Italian ones, done by my friend Arturo, were amazing, I could not find anything that seemed off, and they had a lot of information I didn’t know. The British charts seemed solid as well. In comparing the German charts against the actual Kriegsgliederungs I noticed that they didn’t really match the primary source information. So I decided to revise them for my own use. I’ll add them on this blog for your use as well.

The first one up is the 5th Light (Leichte) Division. This organization table/order of battle covers the division from its landings in Libya in early 1941 to its conversion to the 21st Panzer Division in August 1941.

Click here for a .pdf copy: 5th Light Division 1941

Leave a Reply

