Camden (1780) With Piquet-Cartouche

This weekend I set up my Camden (1780 – American Revolution) scenario for Piquet-Cartouche. I try to play my scenarios at least once solo before playing them with another person. This helps me find errors in the scenario and other issues that need a decision about. I had the game set up, and my son asked if he could try it out. We played a couple of turns (about 3 hours of game play). It was my son’s second game of Piquet, and the only time he commanded an entire side. He somehow ended up with the Americans, which were a large side to play on your first go. He did learn the rules quickly, and was beating my when we had to stop. We decided that he needed to play a smaller game before tacking a scenario this size.

I reset the game with a new set-up and new values (BDV) for the units. This time I was able to play the game solo to a conclusion. Playing time was about 5 hours plus an hour setting up the figures, organizing the decks, and rolling for the unit BDVs. It was a very interesting scenario to play. Almost all of the table is light woods with visibility of only 4″, so most of the shooting was done at fairly close range. Eventually I figured out that the British needed to charge as much as possible, and that led to a British victory. I also realized that Armand’s command needed to be in the rear as its small, skirmisher-type units did not fair well in the front line of battle. In the end, the Americans failed their major morale check two turns in a row (turns 4 and 5), and that pretty much ended the battle for them. The Piquet system worked very well as in the end; the Americans collapsed and started to rout off the board (in a fairly historical way). In the future I hope to play this scenario with Mark as it is a very interesting one to play.

I did have to substitute a few units and commanders, but I’m painting up what I need and hope to have them ready before the next game.

Here is the scenario we used: Camden August 2016

Here are some photos from the first (partially completed) game with my son, James.

Click on photos for a larger image

Here’s the overall battlefield. Note that the entire battlefield is wooded except for the farm on the right side of the photo:

IMG_6861

The American left wing with Armand’s advance guard command in the front (which was not a good idea):

IMG_6865

The British center-left which consisted of Webster’s Brigade and the Reserve:

IMG_6866

Lord Rawdon and his command:

IMG_6873

Some of de Kalb’s Continentals under Smallwood:

IMG_6876

The converged 1st/3rd Maryland Regiment:

IMG_6879

The converged 4th/6th Maryland Regiment of Gist’s Brigade:

IMG_6882

Here are some photos of the solo game I played. I didn’t take a lot of photos as I was having too much fun playing the game.

The overall American set up. It even sort of looks like daybreak, which is about when the historical battle began:

IMG_6883

More of the American initial set-up:

IMG_6884

American militia:

IMG_6886

The British left (Rawdon’s Brigade):

IMG_6889

The Overall Set-Up:

IMG_6890

Another overview shot:

IMG_6891

General Stevens of the Virginia Militia:

IMG_6892

General Horatio Gates before his “flight”:

IMG_6893

General Smallwood of the Maryland Continentals:

IMG_6894

Some of the American militia:

IMG_6896

Cornwallis and aide:

IMG_6899

Figures are 15/18mm and a mix of Minifigs, Old Glory, Blue Moon, Polly Oliver, and Freikrops figures.

Sorry about the uneven photo quality. I’m still learning how to take a decent game photo.

We used this version of the charts: AWI Charts 2016 5.0

2 Responses to Camden (1780) With Piquet-Cartouche

  1. jdglasco says:

    My son also likes Two Hour Wargames Nuts! and All Things Zombies. I hope to play a game or two a month with him in the future. The Two Hour Wargames are great for a quick game.

    Like

  2. Bill Owen says:

    It’s great that your son tried a game! From what I remember of the that one Piquet game you set up at the Franklin Mall, it appears to lend itself to solitaire games.

    Like

Leave a Reply

